New Face Care Routine (Oil/Blackhead Prevention)

I’ve been waiting a couple months to write this post since I wanted to make sure my skin was feeling the full effects of these new products, and now my skin feels AMAZING. I haven’t had a major breakout in months and my face always stays smooth and oil-free until the next wash! Below, I’m going to give a quick outline of my face-care routine, the products I use, in order.

 

First, always start with a freshly washed face. I use Clearasil’s Blackhead Scrub, but if you have a face wash you already love, it’s not necessary to change it.

The next step is to use a face mask with charcoal in it. The one I’ve been using is Freeman’s Charcoal + Black Sugar Gel Mask + Scrub. (Click link to see product). This step is optional if you don’t have overly oily skin, and should not be done more than once a week.

After my face is all washed and air-dried, I apply toner all over, twice (let it dry after the first application and do a second). I only use 100% natural witch hazel as toner. I don’t like to use toners with other ingredients in them because they’re unnecessary and can age your skin. The brand I like is Dickinson’s, but you can use any brand as long as it doesn’t contain any extra ingredients.

the next product I use is hands-down what has saved my skin from being overly oily, and that is Skin Food’s Peach Sake Pore Serum. This stuff works. It has a very slight moisturizing effects, but what is does best is hydrate  and smooth out your pores and prevent your face from producing too much oil.

The last step is to finish off with a very light GEL Moisturizer. Before I discovered gel moisturizers, I was using Ponds night cream. It was so thick and heavy on my face and never fully soaked in, yet I kept using it because I wrongfully believed that heavier moisturizers had more hydrating power. This just caused my skin to feel even more oily. I’ve been using Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel-Cream and I’m convinced that I’ll never use a different face cream.

fresh faced

This is my face now. This photo was taken fresh out of the shower last week, with the SnapChat camera, no filters necessary. I’m extremely happy with these results I’ve achieved over the past few months and plan to keep up this routine.

If you have any questions about the products I used or my routine in general, please feel free to leave them in the comments!

 

*I am not affiliated with any of the products or companies mentioned in this article, nor do I receive compensation for mentioning them. They are 100% my honest recommendations*

Leave a Reply

